Skip to content

Review: Legend by Marie Lu

January 3, 2012

Legend (Legend, #1) 

Expected Pub: 11/29/2011by Putnam Juvenile

From Goodreads:
What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills

Photobucket

The Bookish Brunette thought:
Day is a criminal, or at least that’s what the The Republic proclaims as they flash his WANTED poster on the JumboTrons a few times a month. They know very little about him, so this makes him the MOST-WANTED criminal in The Republic because he’s basically a wraith to them… Really he’s just a kid caught in a government game that he has no chance of winning.

June is a military prodigy that The Republic has been grooming for years to be the best after she was the only person EVER to score a 1500 on her Trials. Problem is, she’s a bit of a trouble-maker. When we meet June, she’s been ‘caught’ scaling a building off campus training grounds.

“They couldn’t get me off the side of the building by scaling it themselves, so the pulled me off with a net.”

Hehe… I LOVED June!

Then one night Day watches as what’s left of his family is marked for death. Knowing he has save his family at any cost, Day decides to infiltrate (love that word right?) the hospital and steal the vaccine his family will need to survive the plague…

But after he’s IN… they’re out of the curing vaccination and security puts the hospital under lockdown before Day has time to get out! Going all Dirty Harry- without the guns of course, in a stand off against Metias, June’s brother… Even wounded and weak, Day manages to get away, only to collapse a few blocks from safety.

And… Metias is DEAD.

June has made it her goal to take Day down… The government’s best student vs. the government’s most uncatchable criminal… She goes deep under cover, living on the streets as one of the Lake sector citizens in hopes of smoking Day out. After days of endless dead ends, she stumbles into a Skiz fight (which is basically a street fight)… that Day is betting on.

“The instant the new girl steps into the circle and I see her stance… I know I’ve made a big mistake. Kaede strikes like a bull, a battering ram.
This girl strikes like a viper.” -Day

And if Legend was knock your freaking socks off AWESOME before this… Ha! After the Skiz fight, I DARE you to try and put this book down. Now June is WITH Day and neither one of them has any idea… And Day, well he is breaking all of his own rules for June…

“I almost kissed the girl last night. But nothing good can come for falling for someone on the streets. That’s the worst weakness you can have, right up there with having a family stuck in a quarantined zone or a street orphan needing you.”

Seriously, this book is FREAKING AMAZING! If you haven’t read it yet- you need to RIGHT NOW! Its romantic, smart, funny and sad- yeah… you’ll totally cry at the end! Five stilettos all the way across the board, and with Legend as a debut… I expect many great things from Marie Lu in the future!!!

13 Comments
  1. Ya, this one was an excellent debut. It was a very nice surprise! I loved Day and June's strength was awesome! Can't wait for the next book.

  2. Oh it sounds like a wonderful read and unexpectedly good :)It sounds like Day and June will eventually find out about each other though—that could be trouble!

  3. I loved this book!! I have the audio book, and the narrators did a fantastic job.

  4. Sounds fantastic! Gotta get my hands on it!

  5. I have been wanting this book for so long! Okay, it hasn't been that long, but when you think a book is going to be so good, it feels that way! LOLGreat review… I so need to read it!

  6. So, I was totally excited for this book before, now I'm *really* freaking excited! LOVE your review. Cannot wait to get hold of this. The Cait Files

  7. I can always use another unputdownable book, so I'll have to give this one a shot. I've had my eyes on this one for awhile, but it somehow keeps slipping to the back of my mind. I'm glad to hear it was "knock your freaking socks of AWESOME." I love it when I find books like that!

  8. Yay, I have this one waiting here but I haven't got to it yet. Glad it rocked your face off, I'll have to move it closer to the top lol. Great review Ash šŸ˜‰Tristan @ Reads With Wreckless Abandon

  9. Oh super yay about your review. I want to read this one soon. I hope I love it as much as you.

  10. I really liked this one too! So glad if rocked your face off!

  11. Added to my TBR list!

  12. I really need to read this one already! I have even had an arc copy, that I traded for, sitting on my shelf staring at me for months. Gahh..there just are not enough hours in the day!Thanks for the great review.

  13. Hey Ash! I loved Legend too, but I really loved Day more than June for some reason. I also thought that government was just downright corrupt and NASTY, way meaner than some of the other dystopian books we read. I loved the ending and I'm expecting GREAT things in the next book as well. Sidenote: how awesome was the different colored print on the inside with the alternating POV? Extra points for prettiness!!

Leave a Reply

